Skip to content

History Making Lobos

The Levelland Lobos made history last Friday night, beating Clint, an El Paso area school, for the Class 4A Division I Bi-District Championship in Fort Stockton.

They beat Clint 54-18. The last time the Lobos won a bi-district championship was in 1996 when they beat Canyon, 18-4 for the bi-district title. Before then, in 1988, they won district but lost a bi-district game to Monahans, 35-6.

That was the first time the Lobos had advanced into the playoffs in three decades. The Lobos are eager to establish a winning football tradition as they face Abilene Wylie Friday night in Midlandís Grande Communications Stadium. Kickoff is set for 8 p.m.  

Tickets are being sold at the Levelland Fieldhouse for $5 for adults and $3 for students. The rice at the game on Friday will be $6 for everyone. Children under three are free.

A parking lot pep rally will be held at 2:45 p.m. Friday in the LHS parking lot to send the Lobos off to the Area championship game. The public is invited to attend. Here the Lobos and their coaches pose with the Bi-District Championship trophy after last Fridayís game.

Most of the Lobos prepared for the bi-district match-up by bleaching their hair, surprising many of their fans, which filled a good part of the Fort Stockton stadium last Friday. The Booster Club treated the team and fans to brisket in the parking lot after the game.  

The roster for the Area playoff game includes:

Trenton Jones (1); Isaiah Cortez (2); Kegan Dent (3); Caleb Weatherred (4); Efren Miranda (5); Nick Gerber (7); Michael Godbolt (8); Jeffrey Elliott (9); Adrian Rodriguez (10); Braden Lamb (11); Jeremiah Ramirez (12); Dominic Longoria (14); Tandon Jones (15) Anthony Ramirez (18); Daniel Hurn (19); Brian Martin (20); Ryan Davis (22); Alex Villanueva (24); Jose Trevino (25); Emilio Miranda (28); Qualin Miller (30); Paul Perez (33); Alex King (34); Matt Trammell (40); Nate Gonzales (44) Kody Duncan (45); Michael Mata (50); Arturo Blanco (52); Paul Ochoa (52); Tyler Hastings (53); Roy Flores (54); AB Ramirez (55); Chris Simmons (60); Cooper Critchfield (62); Brandon Rowand (65); Thomas Vidales (68); Zach Salazar (70); Braden Price (74); Dominick Puente (75); Aaron Mendez (77); Lukas Bontrager (82); Jordan Brackens (86) and Michael Lopez (88). The Lobos are coached by Jared Sanderson, Brian Coker, Jhett Norman, Brent Paris, Kyle Cavitt, John Peterson, Zakarl Wadley, Alex Soliz, Berry Bowman and Jordan Elam.

Leave a Comment