Skip to content

Voters elect Carrie Ellis, DeEtte Edens to LISD board

The Levelland School Board will have one new trustee and two incumbents as voters elected a newcomer, Carrie Ellis, to the board by a vote of 459 or 37.35 percent and reelected incumbent DeEtte Edens to the board with 377 or 30.68 percent of the votes.

Voters also reelected Ronnie Watkins, who was unopposed to the District 5 position on the board. He received 173 votes.

In third place for an at-large position on the board was another newcomer, Scott Dobson, who received 160 or 13.02 percent of the votes.
Incumbent Glen Smith received 135 of 10.98 percent of the votes and challenger Stephen Sanders received 98 or 7.97 percent of the votes.

A total of 652 votes were cast in the election with 460 votes being cast early for two at-large places on the school board.

In early voting, Ellis received 319 votes, Edens received 283, Dobson received 111, Smith got 95 and Sanders got 58.

Smyer residents were also voting for two school board members.

A total of 96 ballots were cast with Brian Riedel receiving 58 votes, Mark Ramirez receiving 55 votes and Bryan Fowler receiving 41.

Smyer residents cast 37 ballots early with Mark Ramirez receiving 23 votes, Brian Riedel rceiving 22 and Bryan Fowler receiving 14.
Sundown residents were also voting for two school board members.

Ricky King led the balloting with 144 votes, Fernando Sanchez recevied 118 and Doug Precure received 105.

In early voting, 119 votes were cast with Ricky King receiving 87 votes and Fernando Sanchez and Doug Precure each receiving 80 votes.
Ropesville residents also elected two members to their school board.

Keila Ketchersid led the balloting with 141 votes and Donald Rhoads was second with 114 votes. Brad Moore and Hector Delgado each received 57 votes.

Seventy-five ballots were cast early with Donald Rhoads receiving 31 votes, Brad Moore receiving 20 votes, Keila Ketchersid receiving 51 votes and Hector Delgado receiving 46 votes.

Leave a Comment