Skip to content

Early voting turnout almost doubles from 2014 midterms

The early voting turnout in Hockley County nearly doubled for the 2018 midterm elections over the 2014 midterm elections.

Cheryl Smart, Hockley County Elections Administrator, said there were 3,665 people who voted early in Hockley County this year.

In 2014, only 1,789 people voted early in Hockley County in the midterm elections.

Tomorrow, November 6, is election day and there is one contested election in Hockley County, county judge.

Sharla Baldridge, incumbent, is the Republican candidate while Wally DeLossantos is the challenger for the Democratic party.

The voting locations for election day are as follows:

–Precinct No. 11, Ridgecrest Baptist Church, located at 801 S. Alamo Road in Levelland;

–Precinct No. 14, Ropesville City Hall, located at 107 Hockley Main in Ropesville;

–Precinct No. 15, Gary Cain Insurance, located at 3392 State Road 168 in Smyer;

–Precinct No. 16, Christ United Methodist Church, located at 1702 S. College Avenue in Levelland;

–Precinct No. 21, Mallet Event Center, located at 2320 S. State Road 385 in Levelland;

–Precinct No. 24, Sundown High School, located at 511 E. 7th Street in Sundown;

–Precinct No. 32, Hockley County Tax Office, located at 624 Avenue H in Levelland;

–Precinct No. 33, Old Sanders Building, located at 3093 State Road 303 in Pettit;

–Precinct No. 35, Cactus Drive Church of Christ, located at 501 Cactus Drive in Levelland;

–Precinct No. 36, Texas Health and Human Services, located 904 8th Street in Levelland;

–Precinct No. 43, Whitharral Lions Club, located at 2nd and Highway 385 in Whitharral;

–Precinct No. 44, Anton City Hall, located at 400 Spade Circle in Anton;

–Precinct No. 45, Capitol Elementary Library, located at 401 E. Ellis in Levelland; and

–Precinct No. 46, Smyer Elementary Library, located at 401 Lincoln Street in Smyer.

There are not any contested elections in Cochran County, but voting locations for state and national candidates are as follows:

–Precinct No. 1, 3 and 4, basement of the Cochran County Courthouse, located at 100 N. Main in Morton;

–Precinct No. 2, Whiteface Elementary School, located at 315 Arthur Street in Whiteface; and

–Precinct No. 3, County Barn, located on Highway 125 in Bledsoe.

Voting locations will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. on Tuesday.

Leave a Comment