Skip to content

Voting begins June 29 in run-off primary

Monday was the last day to register to vote in the upcoming run-off primary election that was postponed from May until July due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Election day for the run-off primary is set for Tuesday, July 14. Early voting will begin Monday, June 29 and go through Friday, July 10.

Voters can cast their ballots early between Monday, June 29 from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. through Thursday, July 2. They will also be able to vote early the week of July 6 from 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. through July 10.

The early voting location for Hockley County is the Hockley County Elections Office, located at 911 Austin Street in Levelland.

In the City of Sundown special election, the early voting location will be at Sundown City Hall, located at 809 S. Slaughter in Sundown.

The city is holding a special election for its street maintenance sales tax. The election was also originally set for May, but due to the pandemic, Governor Greg Abbott signed an executive order allowing the city to move the election to July.

The election is to allow for a quarter of a percent of city sales tax to be used for street maintenance within in the City of Sundown.
The Republican candidates include:

Every Texas county will have a spot on the ballot for the Justice for the 7th Court of Appeals District, Place 4, unexpired term as the race was left off two county ballots in Texas.

The candidates in the election include Larry Doss and Steven Denny.

There are two contested local elections that will be on the ballot in the upcoming run-off election.

The candidates for Justice of the Peace for Precinct No. 5 include Pam Kiser and Derek Lawless. Registered voters in voting precincts 16 and 32 will be eligible to vote in this election.

The candidates for Hockley County Commissioner for Precinct No. 3 include Dyrl Bush and Seth Graf. Registered voters in voting precinct 32 will be eligible to vote in this election.

On the Democratic ballot, there is a contested federal and state election.

The candidates for U.S. Senator include Royce West and Mary “MJ” Hegar. The candidates for Railroad Commissioner include Roberto R. “Beto” Alonzo and Chrysta Castaneda.

The voting locations for election day are as follows:

–Precinct No. 14: Ropesville City Hall, located at 107 Hockley Main in Ropesville.
–Precinct No. 16 (11, 21, 45): Christ United Methodist Church, located at 1704 S. College Avenue in Levelland.
–Precinct No. 24: Sundown High School, located at 511 E. 7th Street in Sundown.
–Precinct No. 32 (33, 35, 36): Hockley County Tax Office, located at 624 Avenue H in Levelland.
–Precinct No. 44 (43): Anton City Hall, located at 400 Spade Circle in Anton.
–Precinct No. 45 (15): Smyer Elementary Library, located at 104 Lincoln Street in Smyer.

All precincts in the democratic primary will vote at the Hockley County Tax Office, located at 624 Avenue H in Levelland.

City of Sundown Special
The election day voting location in the City of Sundown special election will be held at the same place as the early voting location, Sundown High School, 511 E. 7th Street in Sundown.

Leave a Comment