Skip to content

South Plains College to offer License to Carry class on Saturday

South Plains College will offer the Texas License to Carry a Handgun class on Saturday, Nov. 7, in Room 109C of the Law Enforcement Technology building on the Levelland campus.

The class will begin at 8 a.m. with breaks every hour as well as a one-hour lunch break. Facial coverings are required.

The cost of the course is $75 for students getting their first license. This does not include the $40 fee for the Department of Public Safety and Federal Bureau of Investigation fingerprint and background checks.

The classroom portion covers firearm safety, the use of force, non-violent conflict resolution, lawful concealed or open carry, storage with children in the home and contacts with law enforcement personnel. The class runs from four to six hours.

The range portion covers range safety rules and commands, and the shooting portion of the class at distances ranging from three to 15 yards, using the indoor pistol range in the Law Enforcement building. Inexperienced shooters need to take basic pistol course before taking the L.T.C. course.

This course is strictly for qualifying the shooter to obtain an LTC. This is not a class to teach the student how to shoot. The number of students will determine how long the range portion requires.

Students will need to bring either a revolver or semiautomatic pistol, any caliber, and 50 rounds of ammunition to match. Eye and hearing protection are provided for students who do not have their own.

The instructor is Mark Wittie, instructor of Law Enforcement/Criminal Justice at South Plains College, and a commissioned Texas Peace Officer. Wittie is a certified law enforcement firearms instructor through the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement as well as DPS certified to teach the LTC classes. He is a member of the National Law Enforcement Firearms Instructors Association. Wittie has been an instructor on various firearms platforms and other law enforcement force options for more than 20 years.

Students need to register and pay in advance. Space is limited to a maximum of 10 students. To register and pay please go to the following link:

Leave a Comment