Skip to content

Monday is last day to register to vote in upcoming primary

The deadline to register to vote in the upcoming March primary election is Monday, January 31.

There will be three contested elections in Hockley County in March, including county commissioner for Precinct No. 4, Republican Party Chair and Justice of the Peace for Precinct No. 5.

Three candidates have filed to run for Hockley County Commissioner for Precinct No. 4, including the incumbent, Tommy Clevenger, and challengers Greg Kelley and Ricky Sherrill.

Two candidates have filed to run for Republican Party Chair, including the incumbent, Pat Cowan; and challenger, Joyce Evans.

Two candidates have also filed to run for Justice of the Peace, including the incumbent, Derek Lawless and the challenger, Pam Kiser.

Early voting will begin Monday, February 14 and will be held at the Hockley County Elections Office, located at 911 Austin Street. The last day of early voting will be Friday, February 25.

Early voting locations for both the Republican and Democratic March primary elections include:

–All precincts early voting location, Hockley County Elections Office, located at 911 Austin Street in Levelland;
–Precinct 44, Anton City Hall, located at 400 Space Circle in Anton; and
–Precinct 24, Sundown Council Chambers, located at 809 S. Slaughter in Sundown.

The hours for early voting will be 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. at the Hockley County Elections Office and from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Anton and Sundown locations.

There will not be any early voting on Monday, February 21 in observance of President’s Day.

The last day to apply for a ballot by mail, received not postmarked, is Friday, February 18.

Election day in the upcoming primary election is Tuesday, March 1.

Precinct voting locations may have changed since the last election cycle as a result of the county’s redistricting project.

Registered voters should have received or be expecting to receive a new voter registration card that will display the voter’s precinct.

Precinct voting locations for election day in the March primary are as follows:
–Precinct 14, Ropesville City Hall, located at 107 Hockley Main in Ropesville;
–Precinct 21, Mallet Event Center, located at 2320 S. Highway 385 in Levelland;
–Precinct 43, Whitharral Lions Club, located at 2nd Street and Highway 385 in Whitharral;
–Precinct 15, Gary Cain Insurance Office, located at 3392 S. State Road 168 in Smyer;
–Precinct 24, Sundown High School, located at 511 E. 7th Street in Sundown;
–Precinct 44, Anton City Hall, located at 400 Spade Circle in Anton;
–Precinct 46, Smyer Elementary Library, located at 401 Lincoln Street in Smyer;
–Precinct 16 and Precinct 11, Christ United Methodist Church, located at 1704 College Avenue in Levelland;
–Precinct 32, 33, 35 and Precinct 36, Hockley County Tax Office, located at 624 Avenue H in Levelland; and
–Precinct 45, Lobo Field House, located at 1406 E. Ellis in Levelland.

The last day to register to vote in local political elections, including municipal and school board elections, is Tuesday, April 7.

The last day to file as a candidate in local municipal and school board elections is Friday, February 18.

Early voting in local municipal and school board elections will begin Monday, April 25 and go through Tuesday, May 3. Election day is set for Saturday, May 7.

Leave a Comment