Skip to content

Early voting underway for primary election

Early voting is underway in the primary election for Republican and Democrat candidates.

Locally, there are three contested races on the Republican ballot including Hockley County Commissioner for Precinct No. 4, Republican Party Chair, and Justice of the Peace for Precinct No. 5.

The candidates for Hockley County Commissioner for Precinct No. 4 include Tommy Clevenger, incumbent; Ricky Sherrill and Greg Kelley, challengers.

The candidates for Republican Party Chair include Pat Cowan, incumbent, and Joyce Evans, challenger.

The candidates for Justice of the Peace for Precinct No. 5 include Derek Lawless, incumbent, and Pam Kiser, challenger.

There are also state and federal candidates on the Republican primary ballot, including:

Governor: Greg Abbott, incumbent; Paul Belew, Danny Harrison, Chad Prather, Rick Perry, Kandy Kaye Horn, Allen B. West and Don Huffines, challengers.

Lieutenant Governor: Dan Patrick, incumbent; Aaron Sorrells, Todd M. Bullis, Trayce Bradford, Zach Vance and Daniel Miller, challengers.

Attorney General: Ken Paxton, incumbent; Louie Gohmert, George P. Bush and Eva Guzman, challengers.

Comptroller of Public Accounts: Glenn Hegar, incumbent; and Mark V. Goloby, challenger.

Commissioner of the General Land Office: Ben Armenta, Tim Westley, Victor Avila, Jon Spiers, Dawn Buckingham, Don W. Minton, Weston Martinez and Rufus Lopez.

Commissioner of Agriculture: Sid Miller, incumbent; Carey A. Counsil and James White, challengers.

Railroad Commissioner: Wayne Christian, incumbent; Tom Slocum, Jr., Marin “Sarge” Summers, Dawayne Tipton, and Sarah Stogner.

Justice for the Supreme Court Place 9: Evan Young, incumbent; and Davic J. Schenck, challenger.

Judge for Court of Criminal Appeals Place 5: Scott Walker, incumbent; and Clint Morgan, challenger.

State Board of Education Member District 15: Jay Johnson, incumbent; and Aaron Kinsey, challenger.

State Representative for District 88: Ken King, incumbent; and Ted Hutto, challenger.

There are also 10 propositions on the primary ballot, which voters are asked to vote yes or no.

The propositions include:

Proposition 1: In light of the federal government’s refusal to defend the southern border, Texas should immediately deploy the National Guard, Texas Military Forces, and necessary state law enforcement to seal the border, enforce immigration laws, and deport illegal aliens.

Proposition 2: Texas should eliminate all property taxes within ten (10) years without implementing a state income tax.

Proposition 3: Texans should not lose their jobs, nor should students be penalized, for declining a COVID-19 vaccine.

Proposition 4: Texas schools should teach students basic knowledge and American exceptionalism and reject Critical Race Theory and other curricula that promote Marxist doctrine and encourage division based on creed, race, or economic status.

Proposition 5: Texas should enact a State Constitutional Amendment to defend the sanctity of innocent human life, created in the image of God, from fertilization until natural death.

Proposition 6: The Republican-controlled Texas Legislature should end the practice of awarding committee chairmanships to Democrats.

Proposition 7: Texas should protect the integrity of our elections by verifying that registered voters are American citizens, restoring felony penalties and enacting civil penalties for vote fraud, and fighting any federal takeover of state elections.

Proposition 8: Texas should ban chemical castration, puberty blockers, cross-sex hormones, and genital mutilation surgery on all minor children for sex transition purposes.

Proposition 9: Texas parents and guardians should have the right to select schools, whether public or private, for their children, and the funding should follow the student.

Proposition 10: Texans affirm that our freedoms come from God and that the government should have no control over the conscience of individuals.

Early voting will continue through Friday, February 25, Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. at the Hockley County Elections Office.

There are also early voting locations in Anton and Sundown. Those locations include:

–Precinct 44, Anton City Hall, located at 400 Space Circle in Anton; and
–Precinct 24, Sundown Council Chambers, located at 809 S. Slaughter in Sundown.

There will not be any early voting on Monday, February 21 in observance of President’s Day.

The last day to apply for a ballot by mail, received not postmarked, is Friday, February 18.
Election day is Tuesday, March 1.

Registered voters should have received or be expecting to receive a new voter registration card that will display the voter’s precinct.

Precinct voting locations for election day in the March primary are as follows:
–Precinct 14, Ropesville City Hall, located at 107 Hockley Main in Ropesville;
–Precinct 21, Mallet Event Center, located at 2320 S. Highway 385 in Levelland;
–Precinct 43, Whitharral Lions Club, located at 2nd Street and Highway 385 in Whitharral;
–Precinct 15, Gary Cain Insurance Office, located at 3392 S. State Road 168 in Smyer;
–Precinct 24, Sundown High School, located at 511 E. 7th Street in Sundown;
–Precinct 44, Anton City Hall, located at 400 Spade Circle in Anton;
–Precinct 46, Smyer Elementary Library, located at 401 Lincoln Street in Smyer;
–Precinct 16 and Precinct 11, Christ United Methodist Church, located at 1704 College Avenue in Levelland;
–Precinct 32, 33, 35 and Precinct 36, Hockley County Tax Office, located at 624 Avenue H in Levelland; and
–Precinct 45, Lobo Field House, located at 1406 E. Ellis in Levelland.

Leave a Comment