Skip to content

Early voting underway in county commissioner run-off election

Early voting for the Republican run-off Hockley County Commissioner Precinct No. 4 race began Monday for voters in Precinct No. 4.

The candidates include the incumbent, Tommy Clevenger, and Greg Kelley, the challenger.

In the March primary election, Clevenger received 286 votes, 42.56 percent, and Kelley received 214 votes, 31.85 percent. Ricky Sherrill, a second challenger, received 135 votes, 20.09 percent.

Early voting will be held at the Hockley County Elections Office, Monday through Friday, from 8:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. It will also be held at Anton City Hall, located at 400 Anton Memorial Circle, Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.

Election Day is set for May 24 and the voting locations are as follows:

–Precinct 11 and 16, Christ United Methodist Church, located at 1704 College Avenue;
–Precincts 33, 34, 35, 36 and 21, Hockley County Tax Office, located at 624 Avenue H;
–Precinct 45, Lobo Stadium, located at 1406 E. Ellis Street;
–Precinct 43, Whitharral Lions Club, located at 2nd Street and Highway 385;
–Precinct 44, Anton City Hall, located at 400 Anton Memorial Circle; and
–Precinct 46, Smyer Elementary Library, located at 401 Lincoln Street.

Other candidates that will be included on the Republican run-off ticket include land commissioner and attorney general.

For attorney general, the candidates include Ken Paxton, the incumbent; and George P. Bush, the challenger. In the primary election, Paxton earned 797,480 votes but was short of the 50 percent needed to avoid a run-off, earning 43 percent of the vote. Bush was behind Paxton, earning 426,360 votes, or 23 percent.

In the election for land commissioner, the candidates include: Dawn Buckingham and Tim Westley. In the primary election, Buckingham earned 677,253 votes, 41.9 percent; and Westley earned 239,187, 14.8 percent.

The Democratic run-off ballot will not host any local candidates, but will feature ballots for statewide run-off elections.

The Democratic candidates for attorney general include Rochelle Garza and Joe Jaworski. In the primary election, Garza received 438,134 votes, 43 percent; and Jaworski received 202,140 votes, 19.8 percent.

The candidates for lieutenant governor include Michelle Beckley and Mike Collier. In the March primary, Beckley received 304,811 votes, 30.1 percent; and Collier received 422,377 votes, 41.7 percent.

The candidates for land commissioner include Jay Kleberg and Sandragrace Martinez. In the March primary, Kleberg received 257,034 votes, 26 percent; and Martinez received 313,780 votes, 31.8 percent.

The candidates for Texas comptroller include Janet T. Dudding and Angel Luis Vega. In the March primary election, 454,338 votes, 46.3 percent; and Vega received 338,877 votes, 34.5 percent.

The polling location in Hockley County for the Democratic primary will be held at the Hockley County Elections Office for early voting and at the Hockley County Tax Office for Election Day.

Leave a Comment